Certificate of Lay Delegates

Deadline:  August 3, 2017

Each congregation must properly complete a Certificate of Lay Delegates form with all requested information, including the:

- Name and city of the congregation
 - Day and month of the duly convened meeting in which the lay delegates and alternates were elected
 - First and last names of all lay delegates and alternates, etc.

Once completed, the form must be properly authenticated by the appropriate congregational leadership using one of two options. 

- Option one is to have the Rector, Vicar or Priest in Charge print their name, sign and date the form. 
 - Option two
is to have either the Junior or Senior Warden AND the Clerk print their names, sign and date the form.

If your congregation chooses to use Option two, please circle either “Junior” or “Senior” to indicate which Warden is authenticating the form. Please note: This form is ONLY to be used for lay delegates and alternates; it is NOT to be used for clergy.

Does completing this form count as registration?
 No! This form does not count as registration. Online registration is a separate process and must also be completed to attend 2017 Diocesan Convention.


The completed and signed Certificate of Lay Delegates form must be returned to:

The Office of the Bishop
 Attn: Elizabeth Vang
 350 University Ave, Suite 280
 Sacramento, California 95825
 fax: 916-442-6927
 email: elizabeth@norcalepiscopal.org

Lay Delegates FAQs and Resources:

How many lay delegates is our congregation allowed to bring to Diocesan Convention?

As specified in Article V. Section 5 of the Constitution of The Episcopal Diocese of Northern California, each congregation is allowed to bring a specific number of lay delegates to Diocesan Convention. The number of lay delegates is determined by identifying in which congregational range the congregation belongs. This is determined by analyzing a number of factors, including: Sunday attendance, operating expenses, outreach, etc. Each congregational range is assigned a letter, A through G, which corresponds to a specific number of lay delegates. A list of congregations and which congregational range they belong to can be found in the Congregational Range Sheet for 2017 below.

Constitution—Article V. Section 5—“Lay members shall consist of delegates from each Parish or Mission, in union with the Convention. They shall be adult communicants in good standing in the respective Parish or Mission they represent and are entitled to vote for Vestrypersons or officers in the same. The number of delegates from each Parish or Mission shall be based on the Congregational Range which is published each year by the Diocesan Council according to the following formula:

Congregational Range 
 Delegates Allowed

*One additional Delegate is allowed for every 100 Congregational Points, in the previous year, above the Diocesan Standard.

The Lay Delegates from each Parish shall be elected by the Annual Meeting of each Parish or Mission. Each Parish or Mission shall also designate Alternative Delegates in the same manner as the Delegates. In the event Delegates are unable to serve, the Rector or Vicar shall fill the vacancy first from the Alternates and if the Alternates are unable to serve, from adult communicants in good standing in that Parish or Mission."


Click here to download the Certificate of Lay Delegates form

Click here to download the Congregational Range Sheet for 2017

© 2013 The Episcopal Diocese of Northern California.

Designed by: Element Fusion