Nominees for diocesan office, General Convention deputies, announced

Nominees for diocesan office, General Convention deputies, announced

From John Miller, Chair of the Nominations Committee

It is my great honor to announce to you that the diocese has received 31 nominations for our Nov. 7-9 Diocesan Convention, and that all five elections scheduled have enough candidates to be contested. Because of this, we will not need a second period of reopened nominations this year. This level of participation in diocesan leadership is truly a blessing, and I want to extend thanks, both personally and on behalf of the diocese to all those who have put their names forward for election.

This is a great slate of candidates. I cannot express how pleased I am to see the growth in the number and diversity of people willing to stand for election to the Standing Committee, the Board of Trustees, and Deputies to General Convention.

With the conclusion of the nominations period, which opened in July and closed on Sept. 13, I want to take a brief moment to encourage everyone – especially the delegates to Diocesan Convention – to get to know these candidates. It is not a small thing to put oneself before ones peers and be voted upon. With this many candidates, it is obvious that some good people will not be elected. We as a diocese are best served by strong qualified leaders elected by well informed voters, and those who are standing for election deserve to be voted on by delegates who take their vote seriously.

The names up for nomination are below, and in the coming weeks, the Office of the Bishop will post the candidate statements on the diocesan website. When that happens, I urge you to read them carefully and give prayerful consideration to who might be the right people to serve in leadership roles.

Finally, I need to thank the staff at the Office of the Bishop whose technical and administrative work is essential to running an orderly, fair and open nominations process. I hold the candidates, these elections and the diocese in my prayers, and invite you to do the same.

Yours in Christ,

John Miller
Chair of the Nominations Committee

Board of Trustees 

(Two positions; either lay or clergy, three-year terms)

Mr. Myles Clarke

Mr. Bill McGrath

Ms. CeeCee Coleman

Mr. John Miller

Mr. Stan Forbes

Ms. DonnaJo Woollen

Standing Committee 

(One position each; lay & clergy, both four-year terms)


Ms. Mary Ellen Ferguson

The Rev. Seth Kellermann

Mr. Jerry Paré

The Rev. Matt Warren

Ms. Leta Parks

Mr. Chris Sanft

General Convention Deputies 

(Four deputies, four alternates for both lay & clergy)


Ms. CeeCee Coleman

The Rev. Canon Beatryce “Cookie” Clark

Mr. Jay Elmquist

The Rev. Paul Colbert

Mr. Peter Juve

The Rev. Robin Denney

Mr. John Kraynak

The Very Rev. Daniel Green

Canon Charles Mack

The Rev. Kenn Katona

Mr. John Miller

The Rev. Betsey Monnot

Mr. Jerry Paré

The Rev. Michael Monnot

Ms. Anne Seed

The Rev. Lew Powell

Ms. DonnaJo Woollen

The Rev. Jim Richardson

The Rev. Matt Warren

No comments (Add your own)

Add a New Comment


Comment Guidelines: No HTML is allowed. Off-topic or inappropriate comments will be edited or deleted. Thanks.

© 2013 The Episcopal Diocese of Northern California.

Designed by: Element Fusion