Standing Committee

Standing Committee

The Standing Committee serves as the Bishop’s Council of Advice and performs various governance functions, including:

  • recognizing new missions and missions becoming parishes
  • consenting to alienation or hypothecation of congregational or institutional property
  • consulting upon differences between a rector and vestry
  • approving the progress of individuals through the process for ordination to the diaconate or priesthood
  • approving the release and removal of individuals from the ordained ministry
  • consenting to the deconsecration of churches
  • consenting, along with other standing committees (consent of a majority of standing committees being required), to the election of bishops of other dioceses or filling a vacancy in the office of presiding bishop.

The Standing Committee also serves as the ecclesiastical authority for the exercise of specified episcopal functions when no bishop is authorized to act by reason of vacancy in office, bishop’s absence from the diocese for more than six months, request of the bishop, or bishop’s incapacity or suspension.

2021 Members

Mr. Jim Sargent

2022, President
St. Michael’s, Carmichael

The Rev. Amy Denney Zuniga

2022, Vice President
Grace, St. Helena

The Rev. Seth Kellerman

2023, Secretary
Emmanuel, Grass Valley

The Rev. Tim McDonald

Good Shepard, Cloverdale

Ms. Sandra Takagi

All Saints’, Sacramento

Ms. Leta Parks

Our Saviour, Placerville

Mr. Carlton Allen

St. Augustine’s, Rocklin

The Rev. Cindy Long

St. Michael’s, Carmichael